Read “The Corner”, and other good news!

Hello again!

First of all, check out my latest contribution to Hellnotes.com’s Horror In A Hundred series, a 90-word opus by the name of “The Corner”. You can read it here.

And more good news: my story “Ivy’s First Kiss” has been accepted for Sirens Call Publications’ upcoming anthology Horror: Odd & Bizarre. Feel like I’m on a bit of a roll right now! Let’s hope it continues…

What else? Well, I got a bunch of Chelsea Wolfe stuff in the mail this week, including her new 52-minute film based around songs from her latest album Pain Is Beauty. When it finished, I immediately bashed out a quick 300-word piece inspired by one of the scenes from the film, meaning I didn’t get to bed until nearly 3am (on a work night!). She’s the best thing I’ve come across in the last couple years, and this is not the first time she’s influenced my work. Seriously, check out the links above if you’re into dark, deep folk/electronic/post-metal music – in my not-so-humble opinion, Pain Is Beauty is an instant classic, and with its lead track “Feral Love” starting to pop up in promos for Game Of Thrones and Hannibal, you should get in now so you can tell people you were into her music before she got huge. If you’re into that elitist, hipster-wank kind of thing. (I’d like to say I’m not, but I have been branded with the e-word before, somewhat unfairly I thought…)

And not only have I now got a copy of Jon X. Hoh’s The Exchange Student 2 to start writing music for, but he’s confirmed that he’ll shoot a film clip for icecocoon, too. I’ll be conferring with Project Leader Owen in order to get a treatment ready for that, and then soon I’ll get to wear my DIRECTOR and EDITOR hats again. (One’s a trilby, the other a cloche.) Can’t wait! But must.

Guess that’s it for now. Thanks for your time and indulgence! Until next time, lay chilly, y’all.
– M

Leave a Reply

